The Denton County Emergency Services District (ESD) No. 1 is a political subdivision of the State of Texas dedicated to providing fire protection, fire prevention education, and emergency medical services in the communities of Argyle, Bartonville, Copper Canyon, Corral City, Northlake, and surrounding areas of Denton County.  The ESD is a taxing entity funded by property taxes for the purpose of providing emergency services within the district. The ESD is governed by a five member board appointed by the County Commissioners. Fire, rescue and emergency medical services within the ESD are provided through contracts with local service providers.


The Denton County ESD No. 1 was formed in 2006 with a 62% favorable vote of the residents within the district.  Before the ESD was established, the Argyle Volunteer Fire District (AVFD) provided fire protection and emergency services within most of the area now within the district.  AVFD was funded by the municipalities which made funding unpredictable and not always stable.  The ESD now provides a stable, reliable funding source which has helped provide updated equipment and facilities to better serve the citizens of the District.


The mission of the Denton County ESD No. 1 is to:

  • Provide the citizens of our district with the most advanced fire and emergency services
  • Be staffed with the leading team of caring and dedicated individuals
  • Be the leaders of our profession
  • Always be conservative with public funds entrusted to the District

Facts and Figures

Facts and figures listed below are current as of September 30, 2020.

  • Tax Rate – 10 cents per $100 valuation
  • Statement of Net Assets
    • Total Assets – $9,467,588
    • Total Liabilities – $7,993,550
    • Total Net Position – $1,474,038
  • District size – 65 square miles
  • District population – 17,500
  • Emergency Responses (1/1/20 to 12/31/20)
    • Denton County ESD #1 – 2291
    • Justin FD –
    • Roanoke FD –
    • Total –